What we now know as Cambridge Patterns originated from a firm called Stevens Patterns Works. Stevens Patterns Works was founded in 1940 by George and Frank Stevens and was located at the Mill Race in historic downtown Galt Ontario.
In 1976 the company was purchase by Les Payne and traded under the Stevens-Payne Pattern Company name.
An Englishman named Ian Goodhand then joined the firm as a partner in 1978, the company then got its current name of Cambridge Patterns Ltd. Goodhand went on to become the sole owner of the company and moved the company to its current location in 1989.
In 2016 Cambridge Patterns saw another change in ownership as Goodhand began his well-earned retirement. The company was bought by David Kemp who began his career at Cambridge Patterns in 1996 after moving to Canada from Scotland. Kemp became shop foreman soon after moving and has a extensive knowledge and experience in the trade.
While we look forward to an exciting future by continuing to invest in the latest pattern manufacturing techniques and technologies, we are still very much connected to the traditions of quality, craftsmanship and customer satisfaction that were at the core of our business when founded in 1940.
Total of 18 staff members
10 highly-skilled pattern makers
Actively support apprentice training